Facebook Scam: Chat Warning – Reconfirm Your Information

Facebook ScamJust received an email on January 22, 2012 from Carla McNeil about a new Facebook scam that she was hit with today.

While chatting with a friend on Facebook, she received this information in her chat window:

WARNING: Your account is reported to have violated the policies that are considered annoying or insulting Facebook users.system will disable your account within 24 hours if you do not do the reconfirmation. Please confirm your facebook account below:

help-confirmation-accounts.de.vc

thanks,
Facebook Security

Notice the typos in the message and, more importantly, the link she was told to click on. This link is in no way associated with Facebook.

Be careful when seeing messages like this and do not click on the links that you know are not part of Facebook.

To read more and see a screenshot visit Carla’s blog at http://butterflynetworking.com/4022/another-new-facebook-scam/.

A big thank you goes out to Carla McNeil for spreading awareness on this Facebook Scam!

Comments

  1. says

    Thank you Regina, for keeping us all up to date about this. Your diligence and staying on top of issues helps each of us as we navigate the online & Facebook world. Sometimes these scams are well camouflaged and not easy to spot. Most often, though it is too easy to quick click on the link without thinking.

    I love to remind folks to “hover” the cursor over any link and watch the bottom left of the browser screen to see the true URL this link is pointing to. It often will reveal a link that is directing you to an unknown address.

    Thanks again for working to make the on line experience safer.

    Terry
    http://facebook.com/smallbusinesswebsolutions

  2. Terry Peterson says

    Thanks Regina,

    I just received a matching chat message today 6-8-12 from an online “friend” I am quite sure it wasn’t actually from her, I receive posts on my wall saying that so many people have viewed my profile, and then messages following it from the same people saying that they hadn’t viewed my profile at all. So I am sure that the person who actually sent the chat is cloning another persons name while posting (which is why I don’t feel it is necessary to post her name here). The person fixed the typos that you mentioned in your post. The person also isn’t trying to hide the web address, it is the same as when hovering over it. I have copied and am copying below the message (it is a different web address).

    Thanks again,
    Terry

    11:11am
    WARNING : Your account is reported to have violated the policies that are considered annoying or insulting Facebook users.system will disable your account within 24 hours if you do not do the reconfirmation.
    Please confirm your facebook account below:

    update-your-account.at.hm/

    Thanks.
    Facebook Security

    • says

      Hi Terry,

      Thanks for the update. I see that they did fix the typos. I hope that people are paying attention and not falling for this scan and clicking the link.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

CommentLuv badge